The Wisdom of Bill Murray

Img via GQ Magazine Online

Img via GQ Magazine Online

Bill Murray is a cultural icon.  The man crosses boundaries, he literally is the everyman.  You don’t get many people who are that famous, and that down to earth.  The folks over on the Splitsider website gathered nuggets of knowledge dropped by Bill Murray himself regarding various topics such as:

Acting

Whenever I think of the high salaries we are paid as film actors, I think it is for the travel, the time away, and any trouble you get into through being well known. It’s not for the acting, that’s for sure.

Awards

I should never have attended the Oscars [when he was nominated for Lost In Translation but lost to Sean Penn]. I was angry at myself. Comedy never gets the Oscar. Groundhog Day was one of the greatest scripts ever written. It didn’t even get nominated for an Academy Award. And a movie called Dave won, which was a rehash of a movie about a Spanish dictator who died and had an actor replace him. How can that be the best original screenplay? Laughter and the lighter moments of life always seem easy to deliver. I don’t expect those giving out the awards to understand.

* * *

Employment

I wanted to be a doctor once upon a time, but it turns out you’ve got to study, and that wasn’t going to happen. I had no idea what I was going to do. I had trouble holding jobs because they want you to be on time. That wasn’t going to work. Working in the theater, you didn’t have to get to work until 9 o’clock at night.

* * *

Free Time

I do absolutely nothing. I go home and stay there. I wash and scrub up each day, and that’s it. One month I actually grew a moustache, just so I could say that I’d done something.

You can read the entire article HERE.  Go do it.  You owe it to yourself.

Leave a Reply

